Lunch with Swift

Roaming southern New Hampshire's Monadnock Region and beyond — visiting unique places and tasting the local flavor..

Katie’s Kitchen, Wolfboro, NH

Leave a comment

 

Hello again folks.

It was 18 below when we left the house at 3:50 in the morning.  Beth was headed to points west and warmer climates.  I volunteered to keep the fires burning literately because this endless winter was making no promises when it might warm up.    So it was off to the airport for me to drop her off for an early morning flight.

We drove through the cold black morning and parked at the Southwest curb.  With goodbyes, off she went.  There I was alone at the Manchester airport with white clouds of exhaust out my tailpipe thinking on one hand about her safe travels and on the other breakfast.  It was 4:50 am.    I decided it would be a good day for a run up north to visit an ongoing project up there.  I yelped Wolfboro, a town I knew along the way.

Top of the list was Katie’s Kitchen.  I hit the navigate to and took off.    The sun rose as I crested the hill in Chichester.   The big white farms and church there were lit up all white with a quick dash of pink.  From every house an aggressive plume of smoke that rose straight in the calm morning.

I have made the drive up to this are a number of times now and it seems to get shorter and shorter.  The landmarks along the way have now blured into several long dashes but the Chichester hill always remains distinct at all hours of the day.   And as I rolled north I knew breakfast was getting closer.

I pulled into the parking lot of a strip mall east of Wolfboro and didn’t immediately see Katies Kitchen.  It was 6 am and there was an open sign and lights on.  I walked through the door and there were a few other early risers in the place.  Inside it was well lit.  I went straight up to the counter and sat down at a stool.    A nice lady said what will you be having like I was a local.  Then she said cold out there, you working outside?  Putting it off? Yes and yes.  It smelled great in here.  Probably has been like this for all of its thirty years.  Except at one time people could have smoked and they don’t now.  What will you have, eggs?   I think this was Katie herself asking.

Yes, I’ll have the bacon and potatos, too.

I would say with some quick conversation and some  zip zip sound effects like you might have in a schlocky karate movie, breakfast was in front of me -steaming.   There has to be a word better than fast because as adjective, that is an understatement.    The question might have been what was the hurry?

I lingered a bit over black coffee and good breakfast and then asked about a blueberry muffin.  You bet they just came out of the oven.  Another zip zip and one was wrapped up for the next leg of my trip.   And off I went, to Freedom, NH.    Katie’s Kitchen is a great place and a little hard to find  without assistance if you are not a local.  Yelp it, you will go right to it.

Homey, pleasant, tasty and surprising in a little strip mall.

 

 

Leave a comment